Eating disorders are complex mental disorders that, often are misunderstood… According to the  American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) there are eight eating disorders namely;

  • Pica
  • Rumination disorder
  • Avoidant/restrictive food intake disorder
  • Anorexia Nervosa
  • Bulima Nervosa
  • Binge-eating  disorder
  • Other  specified feeding or eating disorder
  • Unspecified feeding or eating disorder

A common stereotype of someone with an eating disorder is that she’s an adolescent or in her early 20’s. While that often is the case, feeding and eating disorders can affect people as young as infants and can occasionally strike after the age of 40. Females are typically affected more often than males; however, males can also develop eating disorders.  
Eating disorders impair physical and mental health, and disrupt many areas of functioning: emotions, thoughts, and behaviours. This can make treatment difficult. Nonetheless, people can overcome eating disorders and thrive.